This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Leens (The Netherlands)

De Marne municipality, Groningen province

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by andrew weeks
Keywords: leens |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Leens flag] by Jarig Bakker, 19 Sep 2004
adopted 15 Mar 1977

See also:

Leens former municipality

Leens is a former municipality in Groningen province, since 1990 part of De Marne municipality. There were 3.500 inhabitanta in the settlements Wehe (seat), Barnegaten, Douwen, Ewer, Groot-Maarslag, Grijssloot, Den Hoorn, Kattenburg, Klein-Maarslag, Leens, Leenstertillen, Mensingeweer, Nieuwehuizen, Roode Haan, Schouwen, Schouwerzijl, Stort, Warfhuizen, and Zuurdijk. A mainly agricultural area with stately farms and formerly with famous manors.
Nickname: "boeskoolkoppen" - boeskool is white cabbage, grown widely in Leens, for the production of "zuurkool" (sauerkraut) in Leens, Winsum and Bedum; the name probably does not stand for an overly optimist village character.
"Hai lopt van Lains noar Börger" - he is walking from Leens to Borger (Drenthe) - "lainen" = to borrow; "borgen" = to buy on credit.

Flag: two stripes of white and blue proportioned 1:2, with an embattled dividing line; on blue a white key placed diagonally from bottom left to top right.
Adopted 15 Mar 1977 by municipal resolution.
In Medieval times Leens was the capital of the region known as "De Marne", from which Leens got its coat of arms (blue with St. Peter). In olden days the deanery church of Leens had St. Peter as its patron saint.
Source: Derkwillem Visser: Gemeentevlagen en wapens Koninkrijk der Nederlanden, 2001.
Jarig Bakker, 19 Sep 2004