This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Castricum (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2024-01-20 by rob raeside
Keywords: castricum |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Castricum newest flag] image by Jarig Bakker, 5 October 2004
adopted 25 Feb 2004

Other Castricum pages: See also:

Castricum newest flag

The Castricum municipal council adopted 25 Feb 2004 a flag: three equally wide vertical stripes of blue, yellow and green, with in the center on yellow the municipal arms. The flag has been sold to the citizens, and is waving on several places in Castricum.
Source: letter from the municipality.
Marcel van Westerhoven, 5 Oct 2004

Castricum 2001 flag

Castricum new flag] by Jarig Bakker, 3 February 2004
adopted 25 February 2004

On this site one can admire the new flag, and the story: (my translation)
"Late 2001 a design was proposed consisting of three equally wide horizontal stripes of blue, yellow and green. The High Council of Nobility was asked for advice. The Council found the design too simple and that it was already used elsewhere. It proposed to use vertical stripes (derived from the municipal arms), to symbolize the geographical position of the municipality. On the yellow stripe a twig from the municipal arms was added, referring to the pluriformity of plants in the dune-area, as well as the cultivation of potatoes and flowerbulbs."
Jarig Bakker, 3 Feb 2004

The flag was officially adopted by municipal resolution on 25 Feb 2004. Description: three equally wide vertival stripes of Blue, Yellow and Green; in Yellow a green twig.
Stefan Lambregts, 4 Jul 2004

Castricum 1968 flag

Castricum municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 2 July 1968

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 35.324; area: 49,58 km². Settlements: Castricum (seat), Akersloot, Limmen, Bakkum, De Woude
Castricum, Akersloot and Limmen have merged on 1 Jan 2002. New name is Castricum.

Castricum Coat of Arms

[Castricum Coat of Arms] image from this webpage.

Granted 2003 - it is a combination of the arms of the three former municipalities.