This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Drechterland (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: drechterland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Drechterland municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adoption date unknown

Other Drechterland pages: See also:

Drechterland municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 10.194; area: 24,07 km². Settlements: Hoogkarspel (seat), Oosterblokker, Westwoud.
The municipality is a merger of the former municipalities of Hoogkarspel, Westwoud and Blokker on the 1st January 1979. From 1 Jan 1979 till 1 Jan 1980 it was named Bangert, then Drechterland. The name Drechterland was originally the name of the "polderschap" (polder-board) Drechtingher ambacht of Drechterland. This was abolished, but after the municipal reorganisation the name revived. Drechterland was also one of the four quarters of West-Friesland.
Jarig Bakker, 26 May 2003

Drechterland Coat of Arms

[Drechterland Coat of Arms] image from the Drechterland municipal website.

Granted 21 Dec 1979. The sword stands for the law that was administered here in the Middle Ages. The roses symbolize the Virgin Mary.
Jarig Bakker, 26 May 2003