This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wervershoof (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: wervershoof |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Wevershoof municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
Adopted 23 May 1985; design: J.F. van Heyningen and R.J.M. van de Ven.

See also:

Wervershoof municipality

Population (1 Jan 2003): 8.466; area: 30,85 km². Settlements: Wervershoof (seat), Onderdijk, Zwaagdijk-Oost.
Flag: seven horizontal stripes white - red - white - red - green - red - green - red - green, proportioned 5:1:1:1:1:1:5.
Adopted 23 May 1985 by municipal resolution; design: J.F. van Heyningen and R.J.M. van de Ven.
Since 1985 the municipality of Wervershoof has its own flag, based on the municipal arms. Silver is in vexillology white, and this was combined with the green color in the arms and the red of the carrots. These were designed in horizontal stripes. It makes the flag recognizable, even with a bit less wind. In the official description is mentiuoned that the three red stripes symbolize the three main settlements: Wervershoof, Zwaagdijk-Oost, and Onderdijk. When the municipal council decided upon the flag, one of the arguments was "that our own flag would represent and confirm citizens' sense".
Source: the Wervershoof municipal site.

Wervershoof Coat of Arms

[Wervershoof Coat of Arms] from the Wervershoof municipal site.
Granted 22 Oct 1817.