This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wester-Koggenland (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: wester-koggenland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Wester-Koggenland municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
Adopted 13 Nov 1980; design: J. Thurmer (Shipmate Vlag).

See also:

Wester-Koggenland municipality

Population (1 Jan 2003): 13.757; area: 62,59 km². Settlements: De Goorn (seat), Avenhorn, Berkhout, Oudendijk, Rustenburg, Scharwoude, Spierdijk, Ursem, Wogmeer (ged), Zuidermeer.
1 januari 1979 werden 
On 1 Jan 1979 the former municipalities of Avenhorn, Berkhout, Oudendijk and Ursem merged to form the new municipality of Wester-Koggenland. Previously on 13 Aprl 1854 the former municipalities of  Scharwoude en Grosthuizen were joined to Avenhorn.
Flag: Veld groen met in het midden het gemeentewapen.
PMS-code: wit en zwart: opaque, geel: process yellow, groen: 355U of C; natuurlijke kleuren op eigen inzicht.
Vastgesteld door de Gemeenteraad op 13 november 1980.
Green with the municipal arms in the center.
Adopted 13 Nov 1980 by municipal resolution; design: J. Thurmer (Shipmate Vlag).

Wester-Koggenland Coat of Arms

[Wester-Koggenland Coat of Arms] from the municipal site.
Granted 2 mei 1979.

Divided: 1. in silver, turned, a harnassed St. George in natural colors with three plumes on the helmet, a mantle and a scarf gules, on a rearing black horse  with a gold seamed saddle gules, piercing a dragon wringing between the horse's legs. 2. in gold a rider with drawn sword of natural color, in seventeenth century black clothes, with a plume on the hat and a sash gules, on a rearing black horse with a seamed saddel gules; 3. in a turned bent point vert a silver goose, beaked and legged gules. The shield surmontée a crown of three leaves and two pearls and supported sinister by a regardant lion gules, tongued and nailed azure. Granted by Royal Resolution of 2 May 1979, nr. 18.
The Coat of Arms consists of parts of the former municipal arms of Avenhorn, Berkhout, Oudendijk and Ursem.