This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wieringen (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: wieringen | max |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Wieringen municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
Adopted 22 May 1981; design: Stichting voor Banistiek en Heraldiek te Muiderberg

See also:

Wieringen municipality

Population (1 Jan 2003): 8.398; area: 211,60 km². Settlements: Hippolytushoef (seat), Dam, De Haukes, De Hoelm, Den Oever, Hollebalg, Noordburen, Oosterklief, Oosterland, Smerp, Stroe, Vatrop, Westerklief, Westerland.
Flag: quartered yellow and blue with over all a Scandinavian cross countercharged; at cross-center a red square fimbriated white and charged with three "rotganzen" (= brent geese)
Adopted 22 May 1981 by municipal resolution; design: Stichting voor Banistiek en Heraldiek te Muiderberg, chaired by Mr. Sierksma.
Flagcolors are based on the municipal arms. Characteristic for Wieringen are the "rotganzen" and the letter "W".

1938 flag

Wieringen old Shipmate Flagchart :

Flag used at the occasion of Queen Wilhelmina's 40 years reigning jubilee in 1938: the flag of Noord-Holland with a square canton charged with the municipal arms.

Wieringen Coat of Arms

[Wieringen Coat of Arms] from the Wieringen municipal site.
Granted 26 Jun 1816.