This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Zeevang (The Netherlands)

Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by andrew weeks
Keywords: zeevang |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Zeevang municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
Adopted 6 May 1975

See also:

Zeevang municipality

Population (1 Jan 2003): 6.327; area: 54,34 km². Settlements: Oosthuizen (seat), Axwijk, Beets, Etersheim, Hobrede, Kwadijk, Middelie, Schardam, Verloren Einde, Warder.
The municipality of Zeevang was formed by the merger of the former municipalities of Beets, Kwadijk. Middelie, Oosthuizen and Warder on 1 Jan 1970.
Flag: chequy of 15 white and red blocks in three rows of five blocks, with on the top and bottom red blocks each a yellow five-pointed star; and on the central red blocks each a green disk.
The design of the flag was inspired by the old name"Zeven-Fank", meaning: seven areas. These were symbolized in the red fields and the emblems thereon. The central, most important emblems are the green disks, occurring too in the arms of the former bailiffship of De Zeevang. The stars symbolize villages and towns. The colors are derived from the old arms of the bailiffship.
Adopted 6 May 1975 by municipal resolution.
The municipality of Edam-Volendam absorbed on 1 January 2016 the former municipality of Zeevang.
Ivan Sache, 19 March 2016

Zeevang Coat of Arms

[Zeevang Coat of Arms] from the Zeevang municipal site.
Granted 25 Sep 1970.