This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Sijbekarspel-Benningbroek (The Netherlands)

Medemblik municipality, Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: sijbekarspel | benningbroek |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Sijbekarspel-Benningbroek flag] image by Jarig Bakker, 18 Apr 2008
Adopted 20 Nov 2007; design: Hans van Heijningen

See also:


Sijbekarspel and Benningbroek are two villages in the municipality of Medemblik, Noord-Holland province, which until 1978 formed the municipality of Sijbekarspel.

Flagdescription: Hoistdiagonnaly divided of 5 equally wide stripes of blue and yellow; the central stripes charged with three standing birds, equally divided over the length of the stripe.
Adopted 20 November 2007; design: Hans van Heijningen.

The arms were granted 26 June 1816. Blazoning: azure a withered tree, in which 3 birds, standing on a terrace, all or.

The colors of flag and arms are after the National arms. It is not known what the original colors were.
Klaes Sierksma supposed that the three birds referred to three villages in the municipality: Sijbekarspel, Benningbroek and Wijzend, but the last village always belonged to the municipality of Nibbixwoud. Anyway all three birds were adopted for the new villageflag.
However the withered tree was too complicated for the flag, so it was formed into two diagonal stripes; the direction reminds of the Frisian origin of this region (West-Friesland).
This flag is now an abstraction of the former municipal arms.
Jarig Bakker, 18 Apr 2008

Sijbekarspel-Benningbroek Coat of Arms

[Sijbekarspel-Benningbroek Coat of Arms] image by Jarig Bakker, 18 Apr 2008 after the Koffie-Hag album
granted 26 June 1816