This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Warmenhuizen (The Netherlands)

Harenkarspel municipality, Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: warmenhuizen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Warmenhuizen flag] by Jarig Bakker, 17 Apr 2005
Adopted 14 Apr 1973

See also:

Warmenhuizen former municipality

Warmenhuizen is a former municipality in Noord-Holland province, c. 10 km north of Alkmaar  - in 1990 Warmenhuizen merged into the new municipality of Harenkarspel.
Flag: eleven stripes of red and white, proportioned 5:1:1:1; etc. :5, at 1/3 flaglength interrupted by five white chevrons, each of 1/19 flagheight.
Adopted 14 Apr 1973 by municipal resolution.
The chevrons are from the municipal arms, which was the Egmond arms.
The municipality consisted of the villages Warmenhuizen (seat), Krabbendam and Schoorldam (part).

Nicknames: "Warmetuters" - a "tuter" is a speaking-trumpet.
"Bessepappers" - in ancient days many berries were found here, and the name is retained by the Carneval Society of Warmenhuizen.
Source: Derkwillem Visser's "Gemeentevlaggen en Wapens Koninkrijk der Nederlanden", 2001
Groot Schimpnamenboek van Nederland, by Dirk van der Hoide, 1998.
Jarig Bakker, 17 Apr 2005

Warmenhuizen Coat of Arms

[Warmenhuizen Coat of Arms] by Jarig Bakker, 17 Apr 2005
Granted 22 Oct 1817

Arms: gules 6 chevrons argent.
This is the arms of the Egmond family with argent instead of or.