This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oppegård, Akershus (Norway)

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by christopher oehler
Keywords: oppegård | akershus |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Oppegård] image by Tomislav Šipek, 7 February 2017

See also:

The Flag

Here is flag and coat of arms of Oppegård. Administrative center is Kolbotn.
Tomislav Šipek, 7 February 2017

Coat of Arms

[COA of Oppegård] image by Tomislav Šipek, 05 February 2016

Blazon: I svart 17 gull triangler -
In English: Sable seventeen triangles or, five - five - three - three - one.
Approved by the royal resolution of 6 August 1976 after a drawing by Harald Hallstensen. [c2j87]
The Oppegård history society web site has a story on its origin.
The motto of the design was "Svartskog – et tre for hver middelaldergård" i.e. a three for each of the medieval farms in the "Black forest". Each of the triangles represents a "tuntre" - a warden tree of a farm housing its warden spirits. It provides a list of the farms: Bålerud, Dal, Ekornrud, Greverud Vestre, Greverud Østre, Grønmo, Hvitebjørn, Kullebund, Kurud, Li, Oppegård Søndre, Oppegård Vestre, Oppegård Østre, Ormerud, Sjødal, Sætre, Vassbonn.
One of the medieval farms is not included in the list and the count - Fløysbonn, that was historically part of the Aker municipality, until 1948 when it became part of Oppegård, when majority of Aker was joined to Oslo, north of Oppegård.
Željko Heimer, 06 February 2016