This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Amb (Pakistan)

Indian Princely State

Last modified: 2008-04-19 by ian macdonald
Keywords: british india | indian princely state | amb |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Amb] image by Chrystian Kretowicz

See also:

The State

Former princely state (non-salute) of India, established as such in XIX century. Previously known as Tanawal, and also called recently as Amb Darband. Darband is its capital. Clan Tanoli Hindwal produced the local rulers. The inhabitants of Amb are known as exceptionally fierce fighters.
Religion: Muslim
Language: Hindko and Pashto
In 1901, the population of the state was @ 32,000 in the area of 699
In 1947 Nawab of Amb, Mohammad Farid Khan, acceded to Pakistan and in 1969 the State was abolished and formally incorporated into Pakistan as part of the North West Frontier Province. In 1973 the royal status of the Tanolis was terminated. The last Nawab was Salahuddin Saeed Khan. In early 1970s, the construction of the giant Tarbela Dam on Indus River submerged much of the state by the reservoir.

The flag of the State of Amb is the reconstruction done accordingly to the description given to me by Mr.Abdul Hamid Khan, the Chairman of the Balawaristan National Front, himself a native of the neighboring State of Yasin. It is five, wide, dark-green panels, separated by five, narrower, white ones in the upper part of the swallow-tailed flag. The lower part being white. Green signifies the faith of the people, white-purity. The flag also appears in the Arms of the Nawab Mohammad Saeed Khan. The other states in the area, like Yasin, Punial, Pulhra and Nagar also had flags, but they faded from the memory of most local people.
Chrystian Kretowicz, 30 March 2008