This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lipsko county (Poland)

Powiat lipski, Mazowieckie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: lipsko |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Lipsko county flag] image by Jens Pattke, 22 Dec 2007
adopted 28 Apr 2000 Gminy (districts) in Lipsko county:
  • Chotcza
  • Ciepielów
  • Lipsko
  • Rzeczniów
  • Sienno
  • Solec nad Wisłą
See also:

Lipsko county flag

Lipsko County is a powiat (county), located in the southeast of the country. It is named after the main city of the county, Lipsko.
The county adopted on 28 April 2000 new symbols by county law Nr. XIII/104/2000. Author of the symbols is Mariana Wodnicka.
Sources: letter from the county office and County website.
Jens Pattke, 22 Dec 2007

The charge in the right bottom of the arms looks a bit like Pope John Paul II's personal arms. Any connection?
António MARTINS-Tuválkin, 23 Oct 2008

I'm afraid no, none whatsoever. The Coat of Arms "Dębno" dates back to 1241 AD and the Mongol invasion of Batu Khan. The heraldic charge - "łękawica" - (two chevronels inverted Argent conjoined in fess) has its origins, probably, in the Tatar tamgas.
The initial "M" in the Pope John Paul II Coat of Arms signifies His special devotion to Virgin Mary.
Chrystian Kretowicz, 23 Oct 2008

Lipsko county Coat of Arms

[Lipsko county Coat of Arms] image by Jens Pattke, 22 Dec 2007