This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wołomin county (Poland)

Powiat wołomiński, Mazowieckie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: wolomin | st. michael |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Wolomin county flag] image by Jens Pattke, 14 Aug 2002 Gminy (districts) in Wołomin county:
  • Dąbrówka
  • Jadów
  • Klembów
  • Kobyłka town
  • Marki town
  • Poświętne
  • Radzymin
  • Strachówka
  • Tłuszcz
  • Wołomin
  • Ząbki town
  • Zielonka town
See also:

Wołomin county flag (reconstruction!)

County of Wolomin flag presents, on the rectangle divided vertically into 2 equal-width stripes: The white (silver) eagle on the left, red stripe and St.Michael the Archangel, with the fiery sword and scales, on the right, light blue stripe.
Symbolism of the Coat of Arms reflects the rich history of the region. Half-eagle on the top derives from the historical Coat of Arms of Mazovia - white eagle, without the crown, on the red field. It was the Coat of Arms of the Piast Dynasty of Mazovia (Mazowsze) and dates back
from the XIII th Century. The eagle in the County's Coat of Arms is a stylized rendition of the eagle from the seal of the Mazovian Prince Siemowit III of 1371. St. Michael the Archangel was, in the Middle Ages, considered a patron of the Knighthood and, according to the Bible, caretaker of the Church, defender of the faithful and the destroyer of the Satan. In the County's Coat of Arms  and its flag, He symbolizes the Victory of the Polish Army over the Bolsheviks during the 1920 Battle of Warsaw (Miracle on Vistula, with assistance of the French General Maxime Weygand), which took place in the area between Radzymin and Ossow.
Translation from this webpage by Chrystian Kretowicz, 13 Aug 2002

Wołomin county Coat of Arms

[Wolomin county Coat of Arms] image from this webpage.