This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tatra county (Poland)

Powiat tatrzański, Małopolskie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: tatra | tatrzanski |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Tatra county flag] image by Jens Pattke, 30 Jan 2002
adopted 10 May 1999 Gminy (districts) in Tatra county:
  • Biały Dunajec
  • Bukowina Tatrzańska
  • Kościelisko
  • Poronin
  • Zakopane town
See also:

Tatra county flag

The flag was adopted 10 May 1999 after a design competition. Coat of Arms in the centre, based on information from this webpage. Tatry or Tatrzanski county is  in Małopolskie vojvodship, county seat: Zakopane (one of the few counties with a differing name for county and county seat).
J. J. Anderson, 29 Jan 2002

Here is a translation of the law on the flag of Powiat Tatrzanski:
"In the center is an image of Our Lady of Jaworzyn from Wiktorowek, Queen of the Tatras, superimposed on the stylized highlanderś folk-art. All of it is placed on white background between two vertical green bands"
Not mentioned is a background behind the image of Our Lady - the mountain range featuring the peak of Giewont with the cross.
Chrystian Kretowicz, 29 Jan 2002

I wrote to the Tatry county office, but so far have not received any response. I have a suspicion or hypothesis. The succession of stripes, because of the huge Coat of Arms, is probably 1:2:1. Big Coat of Armss with 3/4 flagheight are at present characteristic for Polish vexillology. The vertical division 1:2:1 does occur frequently. When I get an answer from Tatry I'll let you know.
Jens Pattke, 30 Jan 2002

Tatra county Coat of Arms

[Tatra county Coat of Arms] image from this webpage.