This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bieszczady county (Poland)

Powiat bieszczadzki, Podkarpackie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: bieszczady |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Bieszczady county flag] image by Jens Pattke, 6 Dec 2009
adopted 2 Nov 2009

Gminy (districts) in Bieszczady County:
  • Czarna
  • Lutowiska
  • Ustrzyki Dolne
See also:

Bieszczady county

Bieszczady County (Polish: powiat bieszczadzki) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Subcarpathian Voivodeship, in the extreme south-east of Poland, on the border with Ukraine. It takes its name from the Bieszczady mountain range. The county was created on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. In 2002 the western part of the county was split off to form Lesko County. The only town in Bieszczady County is now Ustrzyki Dolne, the county seat, which lies 80 kilometres (50 mi) south-east of the regional capital Rzeszów.

On november 2, 2009, the design of the new symbols was adopted by Bieszczady County Council. The council passed the draft to the Polish National Heraldic Commission. This Commission reviewed the draft with the yellow Galician (Ruthenian) lion.
Source: this webpage.
Jens Pattke, 6 Dec 2009

Bieszczady county Coat of Arms

[Bieszczady county CoA] image by Jens Pattke, 6 Dec 2009
adopted 2 Nov 2009