This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cieszyn county (Poland)

Powiat cieszyński, Śląskie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: cieszyn |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Cieszyn county flag] image by Chrystian Kretowicz, 8 Nov 2008
adopted 28 Jan 1999 Gminy (districts) in Cieszyn county: See also:

Cieszyn county

Cieszyn County, Śląskie Voivodship - Czech name: Těšín; German name: Teschen.

Cieszyn County (Polish: powiat cieszyński) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in Silesian Voivodeship, southern Poland, on the Czech and Slovak border. It was created on January 1, 1999 as a result of the Local Government Reorganization Act of 1998. It forms a large part of the historical region of Cieszyn Silesia.
The county's administrative seat and largest town is Cieszyn, which lies on the Czech border 62 kilometres (39 mi) south-west of the regional capital Katowice. The county also contains four other towns: Ustroń, 14 km (9 mi) east of Cieszyn, Skoczów, 15 km (9 mi) north-east of Cieszyn, Wisła, 20 km (12 mi) south-east of Cieszyn, and Strumień, 23 km (14 mi) north-east of Cieszyn.
Area: 730.2 (281.9 sq.mi); Population: 171,029 (2006)

Arms and flag adopted on January 28, 1999 (resolution # V/26/99).
"Arms: on a blue shield a golden eagle with its tongue and talons red and the red initial "C" on its chest.
Flag: dark blue rectangle with the Arms in the center, without the shield."
Chrystian Kretowicz, 8 Nov 2008

Cieszyn county coat of arms

[Cieszyn county coat of arms] image by Chrystian Kretowicz, 8 Nov 2008
adopted 28 Jan 1999