This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Choszczno county (Poland)

Powiat choszczeński, Zachodnio-Pomorskie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: choszczno |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Choszczno county flag] image by Jens Pattke, 5 Nov 2001
adopted 29 Jun 2000 Gminy (districts) in Choszczno County: See also:

Choszczno county flag

Flag adopted 29 June 2000.
Source: FLAGA - Biuletyn Polskiego Towarzystwa Weksylologicznego Nr.13/14 (2001)
In the XVIIth century the County of Choszczno (Kreis Arnswalde) covered a vast territory. It included 5 cities (Choszczno, Recz, Drawno, Pełczyce and Ińsko) and 3 country domains which were established out of monastic properties ( Bierzwnik, Recz and Pełczyce).
In the XVIIIth and XIXth century Nowa Marchia was within the Prussian Kingdom. Before the outbreak of the World War II the county was composed of 66 rural districts and 3 city districts (Choszczno, Recz and Drawno). The area of 1.256 square km was inhabited by 45.410 people.
During World War II on the terrirory of Chosczno was a prisoner of war camp called Oflag IIB. In 1945 the district of Choszczno was again within the borders of the Polish Country. After the War on this territory was established The County Starosty of Choszczno. Since 1975, after abolishing counties, this area has been divided into five districts: Choszczno, Recz, Drawno, Krzęcin and Bierzwnik. At that time they belonged to the Gorzów Province. Since 1999 Choszczno again has become the county city and was included into the West Pomeranian Province. At present the County of Choszczno includes 6 districts: Choszczno, Recz, Drawno, Krzęcin, Bierzwnik and Pełczyce.
Source: county website.
Jens Pattke, 5 Nov 2001

Choszczno county Coat of Arms

[Choszczno county Coat of Arms] image from this webpage.