This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Wałcz county (Poland)

Powiat wałecki, Zachodnio-Pomorskie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: walcz |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Walcz county flag] image by Chrystian Kretowicz, 26 Jun 2009
adopted 25 Jun 2009 Gminy (districts) in Wałcz county: See also:

Wałcz county

Wałcz County, Zachodniopomorskie Voivodship - German name : Deutsch Krone.

Wałcz County (Polish: powiat wałecki) is a unit of territorial administration and local government (powiat) in West Pomeranian Voivodeship, north-western Poland.
It came into being on January 1, 1999, as a result of the Polish local government reforms passed in 1998. Its administrative seat and largest town is Wałcz city, which lies 127 kilometres (79 mi) east of the regional capital Szczecin. The county contains three other towns: Mirosławiec, 27 km (17 mi) west of Wałcz, Człopa, 31 km (19 mi) south-west of Wałcz, and Tuczno, 25 km (16 mi) south-west of Wałcz.
Area: 1,414.79 (546.3 sq.mi); Population: 54,639 (2006).

In the pre-state era the area was a domain of the Pomeranian tribe.
King Bolesław III Krzywousty (Wrymouth) brought these lands into Poland in early 13th century, but it was lost to Brandenburg in 1296.
In 1368 King Kazimierz Wielki (Casimir the Great) recovered it for Poland and it was Polish until the first partition of 1773 when it went to Prussia.
Treaty of Versailles left it in Germany.
In 1945 it became Polish again.

Yesterday, June 25, 2009, the County Council adopted new Arms and brand new flag during its XXV session in the city of Walcz.
There is no description of the new symbols available yet, except the statement made, which says: "new symbols are in the compliance with the rules of heraldry and local historical tradition".
Chrystian Kretowicz, 26 Jun 2009

Wałcz county Coat of Arms

[Walcz county Coat of Arms] image by Chrystian Kretowicz, 26 Jun 2009
adopted 25 Jun 2009