This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mortágua Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Mortágua, Distrito de Viseu

Last modified: 2014-07-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: mortagua | wavy | bordure | grape(bunch) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Mortágua municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 24 Feb 2007
See also:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a yellow and blue background quarterly (town rank).
António Martins-Tuválkin, 24 Feb 2007

Coat of arms

[Mortágua municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 25 Feb 2007

The arms are Argent five wavy fesses Azure and bordure Sable charged with eight pine cones Or. The blue and white wavy pattern in the arms is canting for "água" means "water". Mural crown argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA DE MORTÁGUA".
António Martins-Tuválkin, 24 Feb 2007

Flag and coat of arms adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : I Série in 1933.06.03.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 24 Feb 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

[Mortágua municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Plain (monocoloured) portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have variations without arms: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 Jul 1999

Presentation of Mortágua

Mortágua municipality had 10 379 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 7 communes covering 248,59 km². It is part of Viseu District, traditional province Beira Alta, 1999 ref. adm. region Beira Litoral, C.C.R. / NUTS II Centro, and NUTS III Dão-Lafões.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 24 Feb 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here