This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Porto Moniz Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho do Porto Moniz, Madeira

Last modified: 2014-07-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: porto moniz | base(wavy) | tower | maize(plant) | grape(bunch) | inescutcheon | mullet(8-point) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Porto Moniz municipality] 2:3 image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 7 Mar 2012
See also:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on plain yellow background.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 13 Aug 2007

Coat of arms

[Porto Moniz municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta,

The arms are sable issuant from base wavy Argent and Vert wavy a tower towered Argent masoned sable with port and windows Gules between two maize plants Or eradicated of the same and in chief a two bunches of grapes crossed per saltire Or charged with an inescutcheon Azure bearing five plates per saltire the inescutcheon between two mullets of eight points Or. Mural crown argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA DE PORTO MONIZ"
"Porto"" means harbour (and the municipality seat does have a harbour); green and white waves usually stand for sea in Portuguese heraldry. "Moniz" is a common surname, I'll chuck which illustrious family member gave his name to the town and whether his armourial bearings were included in the municipal arms.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 13 Aug 2007

Flag and coat of arms adopted and published in the official journal _Diário do Governo: I Série_ in 1938.04.25.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 13 Aug 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

Plain (monocoloured) portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have variations without arms: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 July 1999

Presentation of Porto Moniz

Porto Moniz municipality had 2927 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 4 communes covering 82,6 km2. It is part of Madeira Region (also a NUTS II and traditional province), former Funchal District.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 13 Aug 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here