This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bueng Kan Province (Thailand)

Northeast Region

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: bueng kan |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Bueng Kan Province (Thailand)] image by Suttipong Phuensaen, 14 June 2020

See also:

Description of the flag

A new province named Bueng Kan was split from Nong Khai province. Its creation was approved by the Ministry of the Interior on 2010-05-06, and by the cabinet on 2010-08-03. Bueng Kan will comprise the districts of Bueng Kan, Bueng Khong Long, Bung Khla, Pak Khat, Phon Charoen, Seka, Si Wilai, and So Phisai.
Valentin Poposki
, 29 August 2010

The province was established by the Act Establishing Changwat Bueng Kan, BE 2554 (2011) which entered into force on and from March 23, 2011: this date is very important in the flag.

The flag and the emblem of Bueng Kan province can be seen on its website at:

Phu Tok, a rocky sandstone outcrop on which is the temple of Wat Phu Tok, is the symbol of the province.

According to the website:
"the flag is a rectangle of 54 cm x 84 cm" (ratio : 9:14)
It is made of three horizontal stripe, the white one in the middle being 23 cm high, and the lower and upper stripes being purple" (proportions: 31:46 :31)
"The height of the flag, 54 cm, refers to the year 2554, the year of creation of the province of Bueng Kan. The length of 84 cm refers to the to 84-year birthday of the King. The three stripes represent the 3rd month, March. The white stripe has a height of 23 cm, for the 23rd of March. The circumference of the seal in the center is of 77 cm for the 77 provinces of Thailand."
"Purple and white are the colors of the provinces of Bueng Kan and Nong Khai. Bueng Kan province separated from Nong Khai province, but they still have great relations."

Olivier Touzeau, 18 July 2012