This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rochester, Massachusetts (U.S.)

Plymouth County

Last modified: 2011-07-09 by rick wyatt
Keywords: rochester | massachusetts | plymouth county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Rochester, Massachusetts] image based on

See also:

Description of the flag

A blue vertical flag, with yellow patches in the corners. In the center the town seal consists of a red house on a green foreground and white cloud in blue sky behind. The town and state names are inscribed on a broad yellow ring around the seal. Pembroke is in Plymouth County.

From the town homepage

"The Town of Rochester was "planted" (founded) in 1679 and incorporated on June 4, 1686. Once known as Sippican, Rochester was settled in 1638 and named for Rochester, England, from which some of the first settlers came. Before 1852 the Town had a thriving coastal trade from its harbors on Buzzards Bay. Its coastline was lost when Marion and Mattapoisett, originally within the borders of Rochester, were made separate towns.

In 1714 bounds were established between Rochester and Tiverton (Freetown). On July 10, 1739 part of Rochester was included in the new Town of Wareham. In 1852 the Town of Marion was established, and in 1853 the Town of Mattapoisett was established."
Dov Gutterman, 17 December 2002