This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Trumbull County, Ohio (U.S.)

Last modified: 2024-01-13 by rick wyatt
Keywords: trumbull county | ohio |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Trumbull County, Ohio]
image located at The Flag Lady's Flag Store by Phil Nelson, 9 November 2003

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Trumbull County:

See also:

Description of the flag

For its 2003 bicentennial, Ohio is doing something that requires the flags of its 88 counties. Some counties, including Trumbull County, don't have flags yet, so they're going to create them. The Trumbull County Board of Commissioners is asking schoolchildren to come up with a county flag. Not being a Trumbull County schoolchild, I have no input on the topic, but I do have some thoughts.

Trumbull County was formed out of the Connecticut Western Reserve in 1800, so it should have some link to Connecticut (and possibly Ohio, of course). It originally had 25 townships, so it could have 25 stars (or 35 for the current number of jurisdictions). The county is a square, so the flag could have a square in it. The county has a tradition of industry, especially steel and auto, and was the birthplace of President McKinley.
Matt Walcoff, 20 October 2001

This county flag resulted from a 2002 contest to prepare for Ohio's Bicentennial. A portion of each age group's winning entry was included in the final design. A local artist Jay Sylvester is responsible for the bringing the pieces together into the flag we see today.
The white stars stand for twenty-four townships on a field of gold which represents pride in the county. Corn stalk leaves represent agriculture. The six leaves on the left stand for the cities: Warren, Niles, Girard, Hubbard, Cortland and Newton Falls. The five leaves on the right are for the villages of Lordstown, McDonald, West Farmington, Orangeville and Yankee Lake.

In the center circle (O for Ohio), the rotunda of the county courthouse is highlighted. The time on the courthouse clock is 9:11, in commemoration of those who lost their lives during the terrorist attacks on the United States on September 11, 2001. The background of the center depicts the location of Trumbull County within the State of Ohio. It also shows the county is a perfect square. The American Bald Eagle is a symbol of patriotism. Trumbull County is one of the few in the state that currently (2002) has nesting pairs of our national symbol.
The crimson background is a symbol of bravery. It is a reminder of the blood sacrificed by our ancestors for the freedom we enjoy today. It is also a tribute to all veterans from Trumbull County. Slate gray is for steel manufacturing. White stands for hospitals, health services, and a clear bright future.

The blue ribbons symbolize the Mahoning, Grand and Shenango Rivers and other waterways. The blue arrow stands for aviation and also directs us forward to prosperity.

The county was established in 1800, and named for Jonathan Trumbull, Governor of Connecticut to remind us of the Connecticut Western Reserve.

Located by Valentin Poposki, 26 September 2007

Trumbull flag complete


By JUSTIN POST Tribune Chronicle

WARREN - Designs for a Trumbull County flag fit to fly over the state capitol were finished Friday. The Tribune Chronicle, county Planning Commission and Eastwood Mall sponsored a contest several months ago to determine the design of the official Trumbull County flag. The flag will be flown at the State Capitol building in Columbus and in Trumbull County. Mary Mrowka, a substitute teacher from Howland, bested 200 residents in a competition to design the flag. Since then, county officials have been busy getting the colors ''just right,'' says Gary Newbrough, Trumbull County Planning Commission director. The state will turn 200 on March 1, 2003. That day will kick off an eight-month celebration in which the flags of the state's 88 counties will be displayed at the capitol. Newbrough believes the flag will stand out.

Twenty-four stars on a field of gold represent the county's townships, while corn stalk leaves represent the agriculture industry and its impact on county residents, he said. Six leaves on the left of the flag represent the county's six cities - Warren, Niles, Girard, Hubbard, Cortland and Newton Falls. Five leaves on the right represent the county's villages - Lordstown, McDonald, West Farmington, Orangeville and Yankee Lake. Trumbull County's location is highlighted as a perfect square in the northeast corner of the state.

Finding the right shade for the background wasn't easy, Newbrough said, as it represents bravery. The group of volunteers and county officials who worked on the project settled on a shade of crimson, as a reminder of the blood sacrificed by our ancestors for freedom. It also serves as a tribute to all veterans from Trumbull County who defended that freedom, Newbrough said. Tones of gray represent the county's steel-manufacturing heritage and those who worked in the steel industry. White is for our health service industry, Newbrough said. Blue ribbons symbolize the Grand, Mahoning and Shenango rivers and all lakes, streams and rivers with their watersheds; and a blue arrow represents aviation and directs us toward prosperity, he said. The Courthouse is depicted on the flag with its clock set at 9:11 commemorating those who were killed in the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.

County officials are shopping for a company that will make the flag. Newbrough didn't have a date, but once the flags are finished, the county will sponsor a flag-raising ceremony in front of the county Administrative Building in Warren.

located by Dov Gutterman, 18 December 2002

Sheriff's office

The sheriff's office has informed me that it does not have a flag.
Paul Bassinson, 10 December 2023