This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Jones County, Texas (U.S.)

Last modified: 2023-10-07 by rick wyatt
Keywords: jones county | texas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Jones County, Texas] located by Jarig Bakker

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Jones County:

See also:

Description of the flag


"Named for: Anson Jones (1798-1858), Fourth (Last) President of Texas
County Seat: Anson Area: 931 square miles Pop. (2000): 20,785

The flag of Jones County was presented to the Commissioners' Court by Sarah Boaz and Joan Fry in anticipation of the County's centennial. It was adopted on 8 June 1981. The flag is blue with a red border. The border is decorated with reproductions of early Jones County cattle brands, in white. The field of the flag displays the face of a longhorn steer, an oil well, a cotton boll, and a caduceus, all in white with red highlights, and three yellow stalks of wheat.

While most of the elements of this flag are self-evident in their meanings, the caduceus is a novel symbol. Its use here recalls the County's history of medical self-sufficiency and good hospitals. The only known example of this flag is framed and mounted in the Courthouse in Anson."
Jarig Bakker, 30 December 2001

Sheriff's office

The Jones County (Texas) Sheriff’s Office does not have a flag, as reported to me by an individual who responded to my query through the Office’s Facebook page.
Paul Bassinson, 29 August 2023