This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Liberty County, Texas (U.S.)

Last modified: 2020-06-03 by rick wyatt
Keywords: texas | liberty county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Liberty County, Texas] image by David Pawson, 12 March 2006

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Liberty County:

See also:

Description of the flag


Liberty county is "Named for the Spanish municipality of Libertad
County Seat: Liberty Area: 1,174 square miles Pop. (2000): 70,154"

About the flag: "On 29 November 1984, on the recommendation of the Sesquicentennial Committee, Hidalgo County accepted the Falls County design that the Texas legislature would adopt as the Official County Flag on 18 February 1985. The flag is blue with a large white Lone Star in the center of two concentric white rings near the hoist. Surrounding the Lone Star are 37 smaller gold stars, representing the original counties of Texas created during the era of independence. The inner ring displays 115 red stars for the counties created from 1846 to 1860. The outer ring has 91 blue stars for the counties created between 1861 and 1900 and 11 green stars for those created during the twentieth century. The name of the county and its date of creation appear on the fly with a white-bordered gold star."
Valentin Poposki, 12 March 2006

As the text says, Falls Co. took this design, then Hidalgo Co., then Liberty Co., the differences being the name, date, and the colour of the lone star which represents the county. Denton Co. uses a flag which is superficially similar (round seal offset to hoist, name of county in fly, all on a blue flag).
Dean McGee, 12 March 2006


[County Seal] image located by Paul Bassinson, 22 March 2019

Paul Bassinson, 22 March 2019