This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Fayette County, West Virginia (U.S.)

Last modified: 2023-06-23 by rick wyatt
Keywords: fayette county | west virginia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Fayette County, West Virginia] image by Randy Young, 6 March 2016

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

Municipal flags in Fayette County:

See also:

Description of the flag

"Fayette County, located in the south central part of the state, was founded in 1831. Larger than average, the county contains more than 665 square miles of land.

The county is named for the honor of Marquis de Lafayette whose Revolutionary War exploits on behalf of the American Colonists has been well documented. The first courthouse was built in 1838, after the town fathers approved a tax levy of $1,500 for its construction "near the dead chestnut tree in Vandals rye field." Oak Hill, the county's largest municipality, and Fayetteville are the trading centers for the county located in south central West Virginia. This county, too, is on the Allegheny Plateau and is known for its coal, livestock, dairy products, fruit, tobacco, and timber." - County website

The "Fayette Tribune", 12 June 2013, reports the adoption of the county's symbols as follows:

"Fayette County will celebrate West Virginia's sesquicentennial year by unveiling its new county seal and county flag in a ceremony Saturday. [...]
The commission also will present a flag to a representative from each of the county's municipalities, Wright said. [...]
The seal was commissioned in February and the flag bearing the county seal was approved by the commission in May of this year. The design was created by artist Mona Goodall. [...]" - "Fayette Tribune", 12 June 2013

Ivan Sache, 15 July 2013


[County seal] image located by Paul Bassinson, 3 April 2019

Paul Bassinson, 3 April 2019