This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oceti Sakowin Confederacy, South Dakota (U.S.)

Native American

Last modified: 2021-12-24 by rick wyatt
Keywords: oceti sakowin confederacy | south dakota | native american |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Oceti Sakowin Confederacy, South Dakota flag] image by Tomislav Todorovic, 28 November 2021

See also:

The confederacy

Oceti Sakowin Confederacy is known as Great Sioux Nation. It consists of the three branches - Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda.

The Oceti Sakowin Confederacy was made up of Seven Council Fires. Each of these Council Fires was made up of individual Council Fires, based on kinship, dialect and geographic proximity. Sharing a common fire is one thing that has always united the Oyate. Keeping of the peta waken (sacred fire) was an important activity. On marches, coals from the previous council fire were carefully preserved and used to rekindle the council fire at the new campsite.

The Seven Council Fires are:

Mdewakanton - Dwellers by the Sacred Lake
Wahpekute - Shooters Among the Leaves
Sisitonwan/Sisseton - People of the Marsh
Wahpetonwan - Dwellers Among the Leaves
Ihanktown/Lower Yanktonai - People of the End
Ihanktowana/Upper Yanktoni - People of the Little End
Tetonwan - People on the Plains

Today these original seven Councils are divided into around 20 modern-day Sovereign Federally Recognized Tribes in South Dakota, North Dakota, Wyoming, Montana and Nebraska.
Vanja Poposki, 27 November 2021

The Flag

The flag can be seen at:
and as illustration of the Book
Vanja Poposki, 27 November 2021