This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

South Yemen under British Rule

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by ian macdonald
Keywords: aden | union jack | dhow |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Colony and Protectorate of Aden (pre-1959)

The British interests in South Arabia consisted of :

Some of these states trace their origin to several centuries back, such as Lahej (of which history and government is quite well known), Quati, Kathiri, and Mahra. Other are tribal chiefdoms liberated in the last third of the 18th century (for example Akrabi, independent of Lahej in 1770) or that reached certain power thanks their alliance with the British. All the states remained under British protection in the first half of the 19th century, when the Protectorate of Aden was created, separate from the colony of Aden (which is formed basically by the city of that name and some islands).
The native states of the Protectorate were retained by the British administration. Perhaps it's more true to say that the British didn't want to waste any resources in keeping them under direct control, and so ruled indirectly through Residents and Political Agents. If any of this sounds like the British practice of indirect rule in the Indian Princely States, Aden was actually first a dependency and later a Chief Commissioner's Province of British India up until 1937.

Federation of South Arabia and Protectorate of South Arabia (1959-67)

On 11 February 1959 was created the Federation of South Arabian Emirates.
On 4 April 1962 the Federation was enlarged and renamed Federation of South Arabia.
There remained a Protectorate of South Arabia.
The colony of Aden entered the Federation (as the State of Aden) on 18 January 1963.

Expulsion of the British and independence of South Yemen (1967)

Independence was scheduled for 1968, but the NLF and FLOSY, urban guerrilla movements based in Aden, objected to the city's being placed under the rule of absolute monarchs, forced an early British withdrawal in November 1967, and established the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen (commonly known as South Yemen).
Vincent Morley, 3 February 1997

The victory of the revolutionaries in 1967 supposedly led to the abolition of the separate states. Probably the sovereigns fled to the United Kingdom or to other Arabic countries.
As far as I know none of their flags survived the expulsion of the British by the National Liberation Front in 1967.
Roy Stilling, 5 December 1997