This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Royal Yugoslavia (1918-1941): Coats of arms

Last modified: 2011-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: kingdom of serbs croats and slovenes | eagle: double-headed (white) | coat of arms: yugoslavia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Lesser coat of arms]         [Greater coat of arms]         [Royal coat of arms]

Lesser ((left), greater (middle) and Royal (right) coats of arms of Yugoslavia - Images by Željko Heimer, 11 November 2003

See also:

Coat of arms of Yugoslavia

Mjerdenović [mrd87] claims that the Yugoslav Royal coat of arms was adopted early in 1918, before the adoption of the state coat of arms. It is shown there as the lesser coat of arms, the shield only, crowned with the Byzantine crown and surrounded with the chain of the Order of Prince Lazarus. Mjerdenović does not even mention the greater coat of arms and unfortunately does not mention flags at all. He says that the state coat of arms, introduced in 1919, was formally prescribed by the so-called Vidovdan Constitution of 1921.

The third quarter in the shield of the royal coat of arms is the coat of arms of Krain, while in the state coat of arms it is :
Azure a crescent argent three mullets or,
which was taken as a more general emblem for the Slovenian part of the "South-Slavic" nation.

The eagle is crowned with a crown of the Byzantine style. The Hungarian crown is maybe the most famous of this kind.

Željko Heimer, 11 November 2003