This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alice Springs Town Council (Northern Territory, Australia)

Last modified: 2015-06-27 by ian macdonald
Keywords: alice springs |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Alice Springs Town Council Flag] image by Valentin Poposki, 27 June 2012

See also:

Alice Springs Town Council flag

Alice Springs is the largest settlement in Central Australia, established as a station on the telegraph line in the 1870s. It was made a municipality in 1971.

The flag (seen in the photo sent, and on the council's home page) is white with a yellow border, with the council's arms. The "crest" is
described at

The shield is quartered with a white border and a red heart in the centre, representing the town as the "Red Heart of the Centre of Australia". In the first quarter is a camel proper against a field of earth and sky, referring to Afghan camel trains as the main means of transport in earlier times. The second quarter shows Mt Gillen, representing the location. The third quarter shows the overland telegraph line in black on white, and the fourth represents the importance of Aboriginal culture with a brown Aboriginal picture of a waterhole/meeting place.

The (actual heraldic) crest is a rising sun, described as representing Alice's place in the sun and consistent with its status as a leading solar city. The supports are a horse and a bull, both rampant. They stand on a compartment of Sturt's Desert Rose, the territory's floral emblem. The motto "IN MEDIA STAT VIRTUS" is translated as "In the Centre Stands Strength", and the name "ALICE SPRINGS TOWN COUNCIL" is also included on a ribbon above the arms.

Council history on their website mentions the adoption of a flag in 1985/6, a slightly modified design by Trevor Jellis, and before that in 1978/9 approval for a monetary prize for a competition to design arms.
Jonathan Dixon, 9 August 2012