This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

East Arnhem Shire Council (Northern Territory, Australia)

Last modified: 2015-06-27 by ian macdonald
Keywords: east arnhem shire council |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[East Arnhem Shire Council Flag] image by Valentin Poposki, 28 June 2012

See also:

East Arnhem Shire Council flag

East Arnhem Shire, in the north-eastern part of Arnhem Land including Groote Eylandt, was created on 1 July 2008 as part of reform across the Northern Territory. It includes 9 towns, one of which is Yirrkala, a Yolngu community known for, among other things, traditional artists, the 'bark petition' which played a significant part in the recognition of indigenous land rights, and the band Yothu Yindi.

The logo features a tan turtle facing left in the centre of a oval shaded blue in the middle and green around the edge, with nine handprints straddling the outer edge with fingers pointing inwards. The two at the top are yellow with red dots, at the left are two orange hands with tan dots, at the bottom left two black with red dots, the bottom right two pink with blue dots and to the top right a single green hand with yellow dots. Presumably the hands represent the nine towns. Above and below the emblem are the words "East Arnhem" "Shire Council" in 'Complete in Him' typeface.

The logo resulted from a logo competition, with the winning entry designed by Miss Sheridith Manggurra of Groote Eylandt with the help of her grandmother Ms Rosalind Lalara, and then developed by a Darwin based design company. (Council minutes regarding branding, 23 May 2012
Jonathan Dixon, 9 August 2012