This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

About Heraldic Grants in Canada (Canada)

Last modified: 2012-08-09 by rob raeside
Keywords: heraldry: canada |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Outside links

The Canadian Heraldic Authority, since 1988, is the authority responsible for granting arms in Canada. Since most grants of arms also include flags, this involves the CHA with vexillology, too. As we have seen, many flags granted by the CHA are not actually used, since many municipalities go with the Logo-on-a-Bedsheet style, even though they have an heraldic flag. It is my suspicion that many other heraldic flags are not used at all, or maybe one example is made when the Arms are granted, only to be forgotten soon afterward.

According to The Officers and Heralds of Arms and their Armorial Bearings there are currently 6 heralds, 3 heralds extraordinary, and one herald emeritus; this is in addition to the Chief Herald, and the Herald Chancellor, and Deputy Herald Chancellor (who are the Secretary and Deputy Secretary to the Governor General -- not really heralds themselves).
Dean McGee, 26 November 2006