This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Colombia - Governmental Organizations Flags

Judicial System

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: colombia | governmental organizations | judicial system |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The Colombian Judicial system has four High Courts, which are:

  •  Corte Constitucional (Constitutional Court): Established by the 1991 Political Constitution, composed by seven Magistrates and it is in charge of safekeeping the principles of the Constitution and the Constitutionality of the administrative actions of the government. Its official website is
  • Corte Suprema de Justicia (Supreme Court of Justice): Since the Colombian first declaration of independence (July 20, 1810) and the establishment of several independent States like Tunja (1811), Antioquia (1812), Cartagena de Indias (1812) and Cundinamarca (1812), each State had its own organ in charge of the administration of justice. Later, when several States established the Provincias Unidad de la Nueva Granada (United Provinces on New Granada), on September 23rd, 1814, the Alto Tribunal de Justicia (High Tribunal of Justice) was established. Later during the Republic of Colombia (better known as the Great Colombia, a Court was created in the Constitution of 1821 of August 30, named Alta Corte de Justicia (High Court of Justice). Later, when the Great Colombia dissolved, the Republic of New Granada was formed, and on its Constitution of 1832 of February 29, the Corte Suprema de Justicia (Supreme Court) was established. Then on May 20, 1853 during the period of the Republic of New Granada, the Corte Suprema de la Nación (Nation Supreme Court) is established. Then during the period of the Grenadine Confederation on the Constitution of 1858 of May 22, the Courte Suprema (Supreme Court) was the organ in charge. Then during the period of the Estados Unidos de Colombia (United States of Colombia) the Constitution of May 8, 1863 established the Corte Suprema Federal (Supreme Federal Court). Then on the establishment of the República de Colombia (Republic of Colombia) on the Constitution of August 4, 1886, the organ was renamed Corte Suprema de Justicia (Supreme Court of Justice). This Court was based on the Spanish Law of its Appeal Court of 1885, which at the same time was inspired on the French Appeal Court. It currently is made up of seven Magistrates
  • Consejo de Estado (Council of State): It was first established by Simón Bolívar by Presidential Decree as President of the Republic of Venezuela in the city of Angostura (now called Ciudad Bolívar , on the Department of Bolivar, of the Republic of  Venezuela), on October 30, 1817 and it was based on the same institution created by Napoleon in France back in 1799. It was an organ that replaced the citizens in the popular election bodies (democratic bodies) and help to make decisions at a State level. On the 1821 Constitution it worked as the Consejo de Gobierno (Government Council). On August 27, 1828, under Decree by Simón Bolívar the rules for the Consejo de Estado are established, changing only the number of representatives in the 1830 Constitution . The 1832 Constitution changes the number of Representatives and also establishes the Consejo de Gobierno. The 1843 Constitution suppresses the Consejo de Estado but allows the Consejo de Gobierno, which remained during the 1858 Constitution as well. During the periods of the Confederación Granadina (Grenadine Confederation, 1856-1861), the Estados Unidos de Nueva Granada (United States of New Granada, 1861) and the Estados Unidos de Colombia (United States of Colombia, 1861-1886) there is no mention of either the Consejo de Estado or Consejo de Gobierno. In the 1886 Constittuion it reappears as Consejo de Estado working as a consultant organ and also preparing the Acts to pass to Congress. Later during the dictatorship of Rafael Reyes, the Consejo de Estado was abolished by Constitutional Amendment No. 10, of 1905. Then by Constitutional Amendment of September 10, 1914 the establishment of the Consejo de Estado is permanent being the highest consultant government body in terms of administrative issues.
  • Consejo Superior de la Judicatura (Judiciary Superior Council): It was established in the Constitution of 1991, although several attempts were made to establish an organ of such characteristics back in the 1970's and 1980's. It is in charge of the administration of justice, that is, the supervision of all judges around the country.
    Source: Rama Judicial (Judiciary Branch) official website at
    E. R., 10 September 2006

Corte Constitucional (Constitutional Court)

image by Eugene Ipavec, 10 September 2006

I recently saw the flag of the Corte Constitucional (Constitutional Court) of Colombia on August 15, 2006, on the TV news channel Caracol Noticias.
E. R., 10 September 2006

On June 6 I spotted the flag of the Colombian Supreme Court of Justice seen here.
It is the Colombian tricolor with the coat of arms in the middle, with the words on top of the coat of arms being REPÚBLICA DE COLOMBIA in bold capital yellow letters, and on the bottom it reads CORTE SUPREMA in bold capital yellow letters.
Esteban Rivera, 13 June 2011

Consejo Superior de la Judicatura (Judiciary Superior Council)

A Constitutional Reform abolished this entity (2015) and it should be replaced by two new entities: Comisión Nacional de Disciplina Judicial (Judiciary Discipline National Commission) and Consejo Nacional de Gobierno Judicial (Judicial Government National Council). However, since neither of them have been created yet, it still operates as a de facto organization.

Its flag is the (current) logo over a white horizontal flag, as seen here:
- image 1: picture taken by me on January 20, 2017 at the Seccional Bolívar (Bolivar (Department) Branch of the Consejo Superior de la Judicatura). There are three flags featured:
1. Consejo Superior de la Judicatura
2. Cartagena
3. Colombia
- image 2: cropped image from original picture (, published on GoogleMaps by Bernardo Enrique Fuentes Taboada on January 2017.

The Council has had three logos:
- first version:
- second version:
- third and current version:
Esteban Rivera, 31 January 2017