This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Opava city (Czechia)

Opava okres, Moravian-Silesian region

Last modified: 2018-05-25 by kryštof huk
Keywords: opava |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Opava city wards: See also:

Opava city flag

[Opava city flag] by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 31 Oct 2001

Arms, Flag and Colors of the City of Opava
(1) Arms of the City of Opava are per pale dexter gules, a demidiated eagle argent, membered, beaked and tongued or. Sinister argent also per pale. In dexter part of sinister field three chevronels in pale gules inverted (with points downwards).
(2) The Flag of the City is made of two horizontal stripes, white and red, surcharged with the Arms of the City. The ratio is 3:5.
(3) The colours of the Opava City are white and red.
Aleš Křižan, 4 Dec 2000

Opava City, following the description above. Exner's old website had the coat of arms inside a yellow, ornamented frame similar to Andorra's. Most probably this flag is no longer officially accepted and some BoA may have already been designed.
Blas Delgado Ortiz, 31 Oct 2001

Opava city flag - variant

[Opava city flag - variant] by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 17 May 2002

Image after Petr Exner's "Prapory okresních měst České Republiky", 2002. Adopted ?
Jarig Bakker, 18 May 2002

Opava city coat of arms

[Opava city Coat of Arms] by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 31 Oct 2001, after image from this site, spotted by Jarig Bakker, 6 Aug 2001

Opava city wards

Petr Exner has stated on Czech Vexillological Pages that three wards (mestske casti) of Opava City allready have their symbols. I know only two of them.
Opava City is since 1.1.2002 a City with own statute (Statutární mesto Opava). Territory of the City is divided into 8 City districts (mestských cástí, sg. mestská cást) called:
  • Komárov <>

  • Malé Hoštice <>
    Milostovice  <>
    Podvihov  <>
    Suché Lazce  <>
    Vávrovice  <>
    Vlaštovicky  <>
    Zlatníky  <>
Rest of the territory is administred directly by City administration consists of these "quarters":
    Opava - Mesto (Opava - /Inner/ City)
    Opava - Predmestí (Opava - Suburb)
    Katerinky u Opavy
Opava City Districts are entitled to fly their own flag and to bear arms. Some of them are doing it already (as far I know): Malé Hoštice and Vávrovice, Komárov, Milostovice, Podvihov.
Aleš Křížan, 21 May 2002