This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Humada (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2019-01-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: humada |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Humada

The municipality of Humada (153 inhabitants in 2009; 852 ha; unofficial website) is located in the northwest of the Province of Burgos, 60 km of Burgos. The municipality is made of the ten villages of Humada (capital), Congosto, Fuencaliente de Puerta, Fuenteodra, Ordejón de Abajo, Ordejón de Arriba, Rebolledo de Transpeña, San Martín de Humada and Villamartín de Villadiego.

Congosto (6 inh.) was mentioned for the first time in 978; the name of the village refers to a narrow (angosto) place, here the banks of river Odra. Fuencaliente de Puerta was mentioned for the first time in 1352. Fuenteodra is the site of the source (fuente) of river Odra. Ordejón (de Abajo, Lower-; de Arriba, Upper-) is named after urce, "the tree heath" (Erica arborea).

The Ulaña / Amaya rock was the site of the Ulaña citadel (285 ha), inhabited during the Cantabrian Wars (29-19 AD). Whether the place was seized in war acts or abandoned by the Celtic tribes withdrawing because of the Roman colonization - possibly after negotiation - is still debated; the lack of evidence of violent destruction and of historical record seems to indicate that Ulaña was not besieged. The northern and transversal walls surrounding the citadel are still visible. Archeological excavations yielded 267 man-built structures, 179 of them being considered as houses. Some 500-600 people might have lived permanently in the oppidum. Ulaña is therefore the biggest known citadel in the Iberic Peninsula and one of the five biggest in Europe.

Ivan Sache, 12 December 2010

Symbols of Humada

The flag and arms of Humada are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 10 December 2004 by the Municipal Council, signed on 30 July 2005 by the Mayor, and published on 16 August 2005 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 157, pp. 14,368-14,369 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular (1:1), blue, charged horizontally with three stripes of 0.1 in height, the first stripe yellow, the second stripe white and the third stripe green, placed at equal distances, in the middle the [Municipal] Council's coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Azure, the silhouette argent of the Amaya rock in base an ewe passant [argent] in chief a genuine Castile castle or cantonned by spikes of the same. A border vert nine six-pointed stars [or]. In base a wave argent. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 12 December 2010