This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alhaurín de la Torre (Municipality, Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2017-01-04 by ivan sache
Keywords: alhaurín de la torre |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Alhaurín de la Torre - Image from the Símbolos de Málaga website, 11 September 2016

See also:

Presentation of Alhaurín de la Torre

The municipality of Alhaurín de la Torre (38,523 inhabitants in 2015; 8,200 ha) is located 20 km west of Málaga. The municipality is made of the town of Alhaurín de la Torre and of the villages of La Alquería, El Romeral, El Peñón, Molina, Mestanza, Zapata, Torrealquería, and Santa Amalia.

The origin of the place goes back to pre-historic times, and it is known that the Phoenicians that set up factories in Málaga and Cártama in about 1,000 B.C. settled in Alhaurín. it was here that Lauro was founded, and centuries later the Romans called it Lauro Vetus. The Moors, in their time, called it Albarracín, and it grew from that into a larger collection of farm-houses. The re-conquest of the town in 1485 meant another variation on the name, and the place was finally called Alhaurín de la Torre.
The population increased sharply due to the influx of Christian settlers during this period. There are many archaeological remains in the municipality, most of them being in the Estación de la Alquería area, officially designated as being of Cultural Interest. The area is about 18 hectares in size, and was occupied by settlers in the 3rd and 4th centuries B.C.

Ivan Sache & Blas Delgado, 11 September 2016

Symbols of Alhaurín de la Torre

The flag of Alhaurín de la Torre (photo) is prescribed by a Decree approved on 10 May 2002 by the Municipal Council, signed on 21 May 2002 by the Mayor and published on 10 October 2002 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 119, p. 19,641 (text). The registration process does not appear to have been completed yet.
The flag is described as follows:

Flag: Rectangular panel in proportions 2:3, horizontally divided into three equal parts, the upper and the lower, blue, the central part horizontally divided into three parts, yellow, blue and yellow, respectively. In the center, the municipal coat of arms of the town.

The coat of arms of Alhaurín de la Torre is prescribed by Decree No. 2,935, adopted on 3 October 1974 by the Spanish Government and published on 23 October 1974 in the Spanish official gazette, No. 254, p. 21,569 (text). This was confirmed by a Resolution adopted on 30 November 2004 by the Directorate General of the Local Administration and published on 20 December 2004 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 246, pp. 28,986-29,002 (text).
The "rehabilitated" coat of arms is described as follows:

Coat of arms: Per fess, 1. Azure a tower argent masoned sable, 2. Or two olive trees vert in fess. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown.

Azure represents the sky, or represents olive and wheat, recalling the rural origin of the town. The tower (torre) represents the local history, from the times of Laurus Vetus to the Christian Reconquest.
[Símbolos de las Entidades Locales de Andalucía. Málaga]

Ivan Sache, 11 September 2001