This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Borough of Dacorum, Hertfordshire (England)

English Town

Last modified: 2020-12-12 by rob raeside
Keywords: dacorum | hertfordshire |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Borough of Dacorum flag] located by Pete Loeser, 12 November 2020

On this page:

See also:

Introduction: Borough of Dacorum

The name Dacorum is thought to mean the "Hundred of the Dacians" in Medieval Latin. Daci was mistakenly used for "Danes" in the Middle Ages. According to legend certain tribes from Dacia migrated first to Denmark, then to Angleland in the 9th and 10th centuries. In 1086 the Domesday Book recorded the hundreds of Danais and Tring in what became parts of the Hundred of Dacorum. The name Hundred of Dacorum was first recorded in 1196 when it neighbored the southern boundary of the Danelaw on the Lea River.
The modern district of Dacorum is a local government district in Hertfordshire, formed in 1974 under the Local Government Act of 1972. It encompassed the older boroughs of Hemel Hempstead, the districts of Berkhamsted, Tring, Berkhamsted, Hemel Hempstead and parts of the rural districts of St Albans and Watford. The district was granted borough status in 1984. The main towns and villages of the borough are: Aldbury, Bovingdon, Berkhamsted, Bourne End, Bulbourne, Chipperfield, Cow Roast, Dudswell, Flamstead, Flaunden, Frithsden, Gaddesden Row, Great Gaddesden, Hemel Hempstead, Kings Langley, Little Gaddesden, Little Tring, Long Marston, Markyate, Nettleden, New Mill, Northchurch, Potten End, Ringshall, Tring, Tringford, Water End, Wigginton and Wilstone.
Pete Loeser, 12 November 2020

Borough of Dacorum Coat of Arms

[Borough of Dacorum Coat of Arms] located by Pete Loeser, 12 November 2020

The arms were granted in 1992, but were use since 1986. The gold shield with a Tudor Rose is based on the unofficial shield used by the Hemel Hempstead's Charter Trustees from 1974 to 1984, which had a portrait of King Henry VIII on a gold shield. The amalgamation of the seven former local authorities was symbolised in the seven oak leaves which surround a tudor rose on the Dacorum coat of arms. Since Dacorum is in Hertfordshire and the arms are supported by the County's badge of a Royal Hart, the supporters are shown "in trian aspect" or three quarter view to make them distinctive. They are gorged with wreaths of the livery colours from which hang roundels of the arms.

Official Blazon:

  • Arms: Or seven Oak Leaves stalks inward Vert radiating from a Tudor Rose proper.
  • Crest: A Sprig of seven Oak Leaves proper and Acorns Or inflected to the sinister out of a Mural Crown Or, Mantled Or and Gules.
  • Supporters: Two Stags in trian aspect proper attired and unguled Or gorged with a Wreath Or and Gules ribbons flowing outward depending therefrom a Bezant charged with Oak Leaves and a Tudor Rose as in the Arms. Standing on a Compartment Vert strewn with Sprigs of Oak Leaves proper and Acorns Or.
Source: Heraldry of the World: Dacorum.
Pete Loeser, 12 November 2020

Dacorum Borough Council Logo

[ flag] located by Pete Loeser, 12 November 2020

This is the logo used by the Borough of Dacorum Council. The Dacorum Borough Council consists of 51 elected members, representing twenty-five electoral wards. Fourteen of the wards elect two councilors each; Six elect three councilors each.
Pete Loeser, 12 November 2020