This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lincolnshire (England)

Ceremonial English County

Last modified: 2022-06-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: lincolnshire |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Lincolnshire] image located by Valentin Poposki, 30 June 2020
Source: Flag Institute: Lincolnshire

On this page:

See also:

Introduction: Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire is a Ceremonial English County in the East Midlands of England. It is the second-largest of the English ceremonial counties. It has a long coastline on the North Sea on its eastern side. Norfolk is on the south-east side of Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire on the south, Rutland on the southwest, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire on the west, South Yorkshire on the northwest, and the East Riding of Yorkshire on the north. The Lincolnshire county seat (county town) is the city of Lincoln.
Lincolnshire, or Lincs, has three main sub-regions, those being the Parts of Holland, Kesteven and Lindsey. During the middle Ages the whole county was called Lindsey, but later, that name only applied to the area around Lincoln. In 1888, when county councils were set up, Lindsey, Holland and Kesteven each came under the control of single county councils. In 1974, Holland, Kesteven, and most of Lindsey became the three Parts of Lincolnshire.
Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

About the Lincolnshire Flag

A new flag for Lincolnshire was unveiled at five separate ceremonies across the county. The flag was chosen in a vote by organised by BBC Radio Lincolnshire along with Lincolnshire Life Magazine. The winning entry was selected from a shortlist of six designs and attracted thousands of votes. It features a red cross with a fleur de lis in the centre on a blue and green background. A gold border represents the crops grown in the county. The blue on the flag represents the sea and sky of Lincolnshire and the green symbolises the fields, while the fleur de lys represents the City of Lincoln.
The winning design was unveiled at five locations: the Observatory Tower at Lincoln Castle, South Kesteven District Council's offices in Grantham, Springfields Shopping Centre in Spalding, Gainsborough Old Hall, the Assembly Rooms in Boston.
Ken Westmoreland, 30 October 2005

Flag Type: County Flag
Flag Date: 24th October 2005
Flag Designer: Michelle Andrews
Adoption Route: Popular Vote
UK Design Code: UNKG7405
Aspect Ratio: 3:5
Pantone© Colours: Green 355, Blue 286, Yellow 109, Red 186
Source: Flag Institute Registry: Lincolnshire
Valentin Poposki, 30 June 2020

Old Lincolnshire Flag
Commercial Variant

[Old Flag of Lincolnshire] image by Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020
Based on this image.

The website of Newton Newton Flags shows a flag for Lincolnshire County Council as a green (or blue?) sheet bearing the armorial bearings of the County Council on a white disc.
See Civic Heraldry of England, Wales and Northern Ireland for details of the badge. This is may be a predecessor to the new flag above.
Laurence Jones, 10 October 2005

Lincolnshire Coat of Arms

[Lincolnshire Coat of Arms] image modified by Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

"Lincolnshire was granted their Coat of Arms in 1977. The wavy bend symbolises the coastline and the many waterways in the county. The ermine bend symbolises Ermine Street, a Roman road that runs through the county. The two fleur-de-lis are taken from the arms of the city of Lincoln. The lapwing on the crest is a typical bird in the county. The two feathers on the crest are the symbol of the Prince of Wales and symbolise the fact that on 7th February 1301 King Edward I granted his son the title of Prince of Wales, near Nettleham in the county. The supporters are the so-called Lincolnshire Yellowbellies, or soldiers of the 10th Regiment of Foot."

Official Blazon

  • Arms: Vert a Bend wavy Argent charged with a like Bendlet Azure overall a Bend sinister Ermine between four Fleurs-de-Lys Or.
  • Crest: On a Wreath Or and Vert a Lapwing proper between two Ostrich Feathers Argent.
  • Supporters: On either side an Officer of the 10th Foot (Lincolnshire "Yellowbellies") circa 1795 holding in his dexter hand a drawn Sword point downwards all proper.
  • Motto: "IN UNITY WE SERVE"
Source: Heraldry of the World.
Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

Lincolnshire County Council Logo

[Lincolnshire County Council Logo]      [Lincolnshire County Council Logo 2]
images located by Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

The Lincolnshire County Council (LCC) is the county council that governs the "non-metropolitan" county of Lincolnshire. The LCC provides public services such as education, transport, highways, heritage, social care, libraries, trading standards, and waste management. The county town or county seat is the city of Lincoln, where the council has its headquarter building. When in 2008 the LCC adopted the contemporary and stylish dancing green Imp as its logo, some residents thought it a waste of money, but the imp still dances today. (source).
Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

Lincolnshire Police Flag

[Flag of Lincolnshire Police] image by Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020
Based on this image.

The Lincolnshire Police are the territorial police force of Lincolnshire. They were formed in 1856 as the Lincolnshire Constabulary. Strangely enough, they are not active in the whole county; North East Lincolnshire and North Lincolnshire are served by the Humberside Police who provide policing services there and also in East Riding of Yorkshire. Even so the Lincolnshire Police patrol one of the largest areas in England and Wales. Their 200 man police force is headquartered in Nettleham.
Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

Lincolnshire Fire and Rescue Flag

[Flag of Lincolnshire Fire & Rescue] image by Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020
The badge design is based on this image.

Lincolnshire Fire and Rescue (LFR) serves the same geographical area as the Lincolnshire territorial police. The area is largely rural with many small villages, but only several larger towns such as Grantham, Boston, Skegness, Spalding and Gainsborough. Lincoln is the only large city in their area of responsibility. The LFR falls under the administrative authority of the Lincolnshire County Council.
Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

Parts of Holland Proposed Flag

[Parts of Holland, Lincolnshire] image from Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

British County Flags presents proposals for flags for the Parts of Lincolnshire Holland.
Valentin Poposki, 30 June 2020

Parts of Kesteven Proposed Flag

[Parts of Kesteven, Lincolnshire] image from Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

British County Flags presents proposals for flags for the Parts of Lincolnshire, Kesteven.
Valentin Poposki, 30 June 2020

Parts of Lindsey Proposed Flag

[Parts of Lindsey, Lincolnshire] image from Pete Loeser, 20 October 2020

British County Flags presents proposals for flags for the Parts of Lincolnshire, Lindsey.
Valentin Poposki, 30 June 2020