This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

NATO - Heavy Airlift Wing


Last modified: 2014-05-31 by Zachary Harden
Keywords: nato | otan | haw | international organization |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of HAW]
image by Zoltan Horvath, 13 May 2011

See also:


The Heavy Airlift Wing (HAW) is the operational arm of the multinational Strategic Airlift Capability consortium (SAC). HAW operates a fleet of three C-17 Globemaster III long-range cargo jets and it is stationed in Pápa Air Base, Hungary. Strategic Airlift Capability (SAC) consists of ten NATO nations Bulgaria, Estonia, Hungary, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia and the United States joined by two Partnership for Peace nations, Sweden and Finland. HAW is composed of 131 personnel from the SAC participating nations. When HAW reaches full operational capability, it will be a combat-capable C-17 airlift unit designed to perform the full spectrum of airlift missions. The HAW's core competencies will include for example air refueling, single ship airdrop, assault landings and all-weather operations day or night into low to medium threat environments.
Zoltan Horvath, 13 May 2011

The Flag

Its flag is blue with its seal in the middle of the flag.
Image of flag:
Zoltan Horvath, 13 May 2011