This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Mountain Republic (1918-1919), Dagestan, Russia

Republic of the Union of Mountain Peoples of the North Caucasus

Last modified: 2021-07-24 by valentin poposki
Keywords: daghestan |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

N. C. Emirate Flag image by Janis Lasmanis, 9 September 2020
See also:


A 7-stars and 7-stripes flag used 11 May 1918 24 May 1919 as the "Mountain Republic" Flag.

Viktor Lomantsov has this version above and another version with a white crescent (ru-dage20.gif) as the 1917 "Republic of the Union of Mountain Peoples of the Caucasus in exile."
Ben Cahoon, 9 September 2020


  • 11 May 1918: Republic of the Union of Mountain Peoples of the North Caucasus (also officially styled as "Mountain Republic" or "North Caucasus Republic") founded in exile in Batumi (nominally consisting of 7 "states" - Dagestan, Chechen-Ingush, Ossetia, Kabarda, Karachay-Balkar, Circassia, and Abkhazia), independence from Russia proclaimed (not recognized by Soviet Russia or "White" Russians).
  • 8 Jun 1918 Independence of the Mountain Republic recognized by the Ottoman Empire in the Treaty of Batum.
  • 8 Nov 1918 Government of the Mountain Republic moved to Temir-Khan-Shura (in Derbent from 12 Oct 1918).
  • 22 Dec 1918 Constitution (Provisional Regulations on the Union Council and Government of the Mountain Republic) adopted, the Republic actually controlled only the largest part of the Dagestan Oblast.
  • 24 May 1919 Mountain Republic abolished with occupation of Temir-Khan-Shura by Denikin's "White" Armed Forces in the South of Russia (Petrovsk-Port occupied on 21 May 1919).

Ben Cahoon, 9 September 2020