This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Local Defense Forces (Syria)

Quwat ad-Difāʿ al-Mahalli

Last modified: 2020-07-31 by ian macdonald
Keywords: syria | local defense forces |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Besides the well-known National Defence Forces (NDF) that were set up in 2012 with oversight from Iran to act as a counter-insurgency force and auxiliary militia network for the Syrian army, there exists a similarly named but distinct set of militias specific to the Aleppo area known as the Local Defence Forces (Quwat al-Difa' al-Mahalli- LDF). In brief, the LDF consists of a variety of local militias such as Katibat al-Nayrab al-Maham al-Khasa (The Nayrab Battalion- Special Operations), Liwa al-Baqir (The Baqir Brigade), Fawj al-Safira (The Safira Regiment) and Fawj Nubl wa al-Zahara' (The Nubl and Zahara' Regiment). These names mostly refer to areas and towns in the vicinity of Aleppo city, but Liwa al-Baqir is named after the fifth Shi'i imam Muhammad al-Baqir.
Bill Garrison, 1 May 2018

Saraya al-Muqawama

image located by Bill Garrison, 1 May 2018

Saraya al-Muqawama [The Resistance Brigades] one of the units in the Local Defense Forces [in Syria].
Bill Garrison, 1 May 2018