This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Madibeng Local Municipality(South Africa)

North West Province

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by bruce berry
Keywords: madibeng | south africa |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Bruce Berry, 09 Aug 2015

See also:

Madibeng Local Municipality

Madibeng Local Municipality is located in the Bojanala Platinum District in the North West province of South Africa and comprises the former local authorities of Brits, Hartbeespoort and Ga-Rankuwa.

The flag design is based on the coat of arms used by the municipality and the principal elements are water, for the three dams in the area; the cog-wheel and mine-wheel for industry and mining - with some of South Africa's largest platinum mines being in the area. The three mountain peaks symbolise the Magliesberg range which is an important geographical feature in the area. The sun alludes to warmth and life.
Bruce Berry, 09 Aug 2015