This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Augsburg County (Schwaben District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Augsburg

Last modified: 2013-12-09 by german editorial team
Keywords: landkreis augsburg | augsburg county | coat of arms: chief (per pale: red-white) | coat of arms: per pale (cross: red) | coat of arms: per pale (cross: formy) | coat of arms: per pale (fleur-de-lys: yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Augsburg County (Schwaben District, Bavaria, Germany)]
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 15 May 1975

See also:


Red-yellow stripes, 15.05.1975. The former Augsburg county was enlarged during the 1972 municipal reform with Schwabmünchen county and parts of Wertingen and Neuburg. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Linder and Olzog 1996.

Stefan Schwoon, 22 August and 15 October 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The new arms were granted on May 15, 1975 [and] combine the chief from the old arms of Augsburg, with the cross and fleur-de-lis from the old arms of Schwabmünchen. The fleur-de-lis was also part of the old arms.

Literature: [presumably Linder and Olzog 1996].

Santiago Dotor, 5 February 2004