This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hohberg Municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Hohberg, Ortenaukreis, Baden-Württemberg

Last modified: 2020-08-28 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: hohberg | triple loop |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Hohberg banner] image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 16 Sep 2013
approved 22 November See also:

Hohberg Municipality

Hohberg Banner

Description of banner:
It is a green - yellow vertical bicolour. The coat of arms is shifted to the top.
Source: this webpage
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 16 Sep 2013

Hohberg Coat of Arms

Description of coat of arms:
In a green shield is a golden (=yellow) trinity symbol.
The name of the municipality had been Hofweier before 3 May 1972. On 1 January 1973 the municipalities of Diersburg and Niederschopfheim were incorporated. Hohberg was the name of a cadastral section on the area of Hofweier. The endless triple loop, in the medieval a symbol of the Holy Trinity, is stressing the common ground of the three former municipalities. It can also be seen on a column's capital, which was found in Niederschopfheim in 1886. Both colours had also been in the arms of Diersburg and Niederschopfheim.
Source: Landeskundliches Informationssystem Baden-Württemberg

Banner and coat of arms were approved on 22 November 1976 by the county administration, published in GABl 314/1977.

Klaus-Michael Schneider, 16 Sep 2013

back to Ortenau cities and municipalities click here