This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hungary - Subdivisions - The Capital and Cities (index)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: hungary | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Hungary has 19 counties (Hungarian: megye, plural: megyék) and its capital which has a special status and is not included in any county. Counties divided into 175 districts (Hungarian: járás, plural: járások) and Budapest is also divided into 23 districts (Hungarian: kerület, plural kerületek). A a total, there are 3152 localities (Hungarian: település, plural: települések), which are 346 towns (Hungarian: város, plural: városok;) and 2806 villages (Hungarian: község, plural: községek). There are 23 of the towns are so-called urban counties (Hungarian: megyei jogú város - town with county rights), and they do not belong to any counties. All county seats (except Budapest) are urban counties, together with 5 other towns having more than 50 thousand population.

The capital (Főváros) and Cities (Like County by Right - Megyei Jogú Város)

Note: The Cities are not part of the counties.

The Capital

The Cities:

Lists edited with the partcipation of István Molnár and Zoltán Turay