This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hungary - Subdivisions - Counties and Towns (index)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: hungary | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The cities are not part of the counties, they are independent, but are counted at the Counties as per public administration.
Settlements, without any marks (29), are traditional towns in Hungary.
In 2004, Hungary has 251 towns, 22 cities (Like County by Right) and the capital (főváros).
Zoltán Turay, 28 December 2004

Another change has occured on 15 July 2013, when President of the Republic granted town status for 18 former municipalities. It means they have been declared as towns from that time.
346 towns have been in Hungary since mid July of 2013.
Zoltan Horvath, 18 October 2013

The Counties and the Towns

List edited with the partcipation of István Molnár, Zoltán Turay and Zoltan Horvath