This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Commune Flags (Portugal)

Ordered by List of Municipalities

Last modified: 2018-05-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: commune |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[ANAFRE flag] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, 3 June 2017 See also:

Rules of Portuguese communal flags

Communal flags in Portugal follow the same rules as municipal — in fact, unless you have an atlas built in your brain or it is written on the flag itself, communal and municipal flags are virtually indistinguishable! The flag pattern (plain, quartered or gyronny) and the number of castles on the mural crown of the coat of arms (3, 4 or 5) do indicate the seat’s rank: village (aldeia), town (vila) and city (cidade) — but that is a not so clear indication, since some cities and most towns (new ones) are not municipality seats… So, one is never sure.
António Martins, 6 Mar 1998

My database shows 4179 communes as of early 1998, so a good guess would be 4200 by now… communes and municipalities span a very wide and overlapping range, both in area and in population.
António Martins, 12 Dec 1999

How to use

If you know, to which municipality a commune belongs, click on link of municipality, a list of all communes of this municipality will appear. Next choose commune.
If you don't know, to which municipality a commune belongs, visit our keyword page, which is ordered by alphabet and will connect you with our FOTW search engine. Usually also the municipality of the commune is given there in (brackets), if there is more then one commune having the same name.

New list of Portuguese communal flags listed per municipality

This list will be continiously updated, click on municipality to open list of its communes!

back to Subdivisions of Portugal click here