This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Noorder-Koggenland (The Netherlands)

former municipality, now Medemblik municipality, Noord-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: noorder-koggenland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Noorder-Koggenland municipality image by Shipmate Flagchart :

See also:

Description of the flag

Girony in ten pieces, blue - yellow - blue - white - blue- yellow - blue - white - blue - yellow; the focal point is at 1/3 of flaglength and the first described gyron has its base at hoist-center; proportions are 2:3.
PMS-colorcode: blue: 300U or C, yellow: process yellow; white: opaque.
Adopted by municipal resolution on 1 Sep 1980.
Source: the municipal website.
Noorder-Koggenland consists of the villages Abbekerk, Benningbroek, Hauwert, Lambertschaag, Midwoud (seat), Oostwoud, Opperdoes, Sijbekarspel, and Twisk. 1 January 2003 there were 10.454 inhabitants on 5060 ha. It was founded on 1 Jan 1979 by the merger of the municipalities of Abbekerk, Twisk, Opperdoes, Midwoud, and Sijbekarspel.
Regarding "koggen": this is part of the region of Westfriesland, which used to be divided in 4 "ambachten" (shire?), each of which was divided in 4 "koggen" (cocks). Each "kogge" had to equip a medieval warship named "kogge", or "koggeschip" (cock-boat). So a "kogge" might be the same as a municipality. This division was maintained between 1000 and 2000, but now definitively a thing of the past with the centralization of the "waterschappen" (polderboards).
Source: Noord-Holland en zijn Gemeenten, 1981, and the municipal website.
Jarig Bakker, 7 May 2003

Since 1 Jan 2007 Noorder-Koggenland is part of Medemblik.

Noorder-Koggenland Coat of Arms

[Noorder-Koggenland Coat of Arms] image from the municipal website.

Granted 21 Jan 1980. Het wapen bevat een geïdealiseerd (viking) coggeschip en een lindeboom, symbool van onverwoestbaar recht. Vroeger werd namelijk onder een groene linde recht gesprokendoor de vierschaar. De linde is de enige inheemse boom met een onverwoestbaar regeneratievermogen. Zo zijn water, schip en bomen symbolen geworden voor een nieuwe gemeente.
The arms contains an idealized (viking) coggeschip and a linden-tree, symbol of indestructable law. In olden times law was spoken under a green linden-tree by the "vierschaar" (court of four). The linden is the only indigenous tree with an indestructable power to regenerate. So water, ship, and trees have become symbols for a new municipality.
Jarig Bakker, 7 May 2003

Midwoud [former municipality]

former Midwoud image by Shipmate Flagchart :

Flag: two equally wide vertical stripes of yellow and blue. Adopted by municipal resolution on 25 May 1955. The municipality of Midwoud ceased to exist on 1 Jan 1979, when it became part of the municipality of Noorder-Koggenland. Midwoud village is now its muncipal seat. Since 1 Jan 2007 it is part of Medemblik.
Jarig Bakker, 7 May 2003

Twisk [former municipality]

former Twisk image by Shipmate Flagchart :

Flag: blue with three vertical yellow stripes, each of which' width is proportioned 1:12 relative to flagwidth. Adopted by municipal resolution on 27 Oct 1961. The municipality of Twisk ceased to exist on 1 Jan 1979, when it became part of the municipality of Noorder-Koggenland. Part of Medemblik since 1 Jan 2007.
Jarig Bakker, 7 May 2003